The Clean Coder Chapters 3 and 4

This week we were assigned to read chapters 3 and 4 in “The Clean Coder” book. These chapters brought some things that I didn’t realize I did to my attention. First of all, in chapter 3 it talked about key words that people use that implied that they can’t or won’t get something done. Saying something like “I’ll try to get it done” is a lot different than “I will get this done”. I fall victim to saying I will try to do something or I should do something, and knowing in the back of my mind that I will most likely not get it done. 

In chapter 4 something that surprised me was when the author said to avoid the zone. It makes sense why he would say this. In the zone, you are focused on one thing, and that is to get as much code done as possible. The setback with this is that you lose sight of the bigger picture and in the end, the code will come out with a lot more bugs than if you were not in the zone. For this reason, developers should try to stay out of the zone. 


Leave a comment